The Trump Budget: What You Need to Know

March 14th

2 P.M. EDT, 1 P.M. CDT, 12 P.M. MDT, 11 A.M. PDT

Each year, the President is mandated by law to submit a proposed federal budget to Congress. The budget states the President’s priorities.  For the Trump Administration, that means cuts to human needs programs and big Pentagon increases. This year, we expect the proposed budget will be released the week of March 11th.

The Coalition on Human Needs is hosting a webinar to tell you what you need to know about the Trump budget and the work ahead for better alternatives in Congress. One of the biggest issues:  will Congress lift looming spending caps that will slash domestic programs by about 10 percent?   We’ve already heard that the President wants to make deep cuts in domestic appropriations while dramatically increasing funds for the Pentagon. Advocates need to know how to prevent those cuts, how to fight against cuts to basic needs programs like Medicaid or SNAP, and how to advance real improvements in the services we need. On this webinar, you’ll find out more about the spending caps and how the President’s proposals will affect low- and moderate-income people through likely cuts to Medicaid, SNAP, housing, help for people with disabilities, education and job training, social services, and public health programs.  And you’ll learn about opportunities to protect and expand human needs programs as Congress takes up the FY 2020 budget.

Speakers:

Sharon Parrott:  Sharon is Senior Fellow and Senior Counselor at the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities.  A preeminent expert on federal budget and anti-poverty policy, Sharon served for two years as Associate Director for the Education, Income Maintenance, and Labor (EIML) Division at the Office of Management and Budget within the Obama Administration.

Deborah Weinstein:  Debbie is Executive Director of the Coalition on Human Needs. In her 16 years at CHN, she has focused on educating advocates about how to engage in critical federal budget choices on behalf of low-income people.

Moderator: Ellen Teller: Ellen is Director of Government Affairs at the Food Research and Action Center (FRAC) and Chair of the CHN Board.

Accessibility Assistance: The webinar will be captioned. The webinar will also be recorded, and all registrants will get the recording link with captions, slides, and follow-up information.

*Registrants for this webinar will receive follow-up emails on this and related topics. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Webinar Information
Date Presented:
March 14, 2019 2:00 PM Eastern
Length:
1 hour
Registration Fee:
Free
Registration for this event is closed
The Trump Budget: What You Need to Know
Individual topic purchase: Selected